Skip to content ↓

KS4 Religious Studies

Welcome to GCSE Religious Studies Vimeo
What do you study?

The GCSE is divided into 2 parts:

  • Philosophical and Ethical Studies in the Modern World.
  • Beliefs and Practices of Buddhism and Christianity.  
Why study GCSE Religious Studies?
  • A qualification in Religious Studies enables you to gain an insight into the beliefs and values of different people.
  • To broaden your understanding of the world.
  • In the world of work employers look for someone with an enquiring mind, an appreciation of other people’s viewpoints and an ability to come to clear, balanced decisions. These skills develop through studying religions.
  • If you want to work with people in caring work, teaching, journalism, publishing, policing, with children, health, catering, leisure and tourism or work abroad or in a cosmopolitan setting, Religious Studies will give you plenty to think about and valuable skills.
  • It is also a valuable entry qualification to post-16 education, AS and A2 levels and vocational courses.

In Philosophical & Ethical Studies in the Modern World you will study:  

  • Issues of Relationships - Family, sexual relationships, marriage and divorce and issues of equality.
  • Issues of Life and Death - The world, the value of life, death and the afterlife, euthanasia and abortion.
  • Issues of Good and Evil - The nature of good and evil, suffering, crime and punishment, forgiveness.
  • Issues of Human Rights - Racism, wealth and poverty, social justice and Britain in the 21st Century.

In Beliefs and Practices you will study:


  • The nature of God - Forms of Worship
  • Creation - Sacraments
  • Jesus - Pilgrimage
  • Salvation - The Church in the local community
  • The afterlife - The worldwide Church


  • The Buddha - Buddhist places of worship
  • The Dhamma - Meditation
  • The Four Noble Truths - Devotional practices
  • Human personality - Death and mourning
  • Human destiny and ethical teaching - Festivals and retreats
How is the course assessed?

Three examinations, graded 1-9 with 9 being the highest.

The course is assessed by one 2 hour exam and two 1 hour exams.